Take Chances. Make Mistakes. Get Messy.

This class was just what I needed to get through this summer. I ended spring semester on a good note. I finished my BFA and my exiting show, “Inside My Lamp”. Shortly after that, life got serious again. I was excited to start this class, but also nervous because I knew I had to study my life away to pass these FTCE exams as well. I don’t think I could’ve done it without the constant motivation and support from my cohort. Our professor Sara won me over immediately when she walked in the first day with a box full of donuts and a cute teacher mug placed in front of everyone’s seat.

I learned so much about my teacher identity in this class and realized it was okay to combine my artist identity with this new teacher identity. Our professor Sara was such a great role model. She was so great at leading us while also allowing us to grow.

Photo Jun 12, 2 21 46 PM

Think about this. A class room full of women (one pregnant) at 9 am every morning Monday through Thursday. Journaling and getting our creative teacher juices flowing wasn’t the worst thing to wake up for. I personally loved journaling and loved doing it surrounded with such intelligent future art teachers. I love to collage and work with materials in a short amount of time. I find it challenging and a way for me to express my thoughts visually as they happen instead of after the fact.

IMG_8754

I’m not going to lie after this class, FSUS camp, and passing all these exams I feel I have truly embodied my inner Ms. Frizzle. Magic was on my side this summer because I still don’t even believe I passed all these exams. It made me realize if you truly work for something you want, nothing is impossible. Remembering this moment is extremely important for my teacher identity. I accomplished what I SWORE was impossible. This is a story I am going to be proud to share with my students. I will always encourage my students to “Move Mountains”

tumblr_ne37supixt1qi4uivo1_500IMG_8075

After four days of non-stop art I was miserable the next three days working in a drive through window. I realized how excited and ready I felt to start teaching! One more year till all this hard work will finally be worth it. 🙂

 

 

 

Sammantha Marie’s Artst Philosphy:

Ms. Marie’s Teaching Philosphy:

Share your ideas!

