the importance of felxability

Well, we just took one more baby step (and by baby step I mean an intensive, express, 8 hour a day teaching experience) toward becoming a teacher and I loved it!

 

Yes, I leaned that teaching Is really hard.

Yes, I learned lesson planning takes a lot of time and involves a lot of trouble shooting.

Yes, I learned that middle schoolers are sassy.

Yes, I learned that I can have just as much fun as my students.

 

I think my biggest take away from this experience is the need for flexibility and communication. Things do not always go as planed, and this is not a bad thing.

I spent many hours writing up a lesson that I thought the students would be able to accomplish and enjoy. Though many of them did enjoy it, there is still a lot of work that needs to be done.

I went in with a silly expectation that things would run exactly how I imagined them… but that’s where I came to another road block, I wanted them to do it how I imagined it to be done. I am sure with a certain amount of classroom management this could be done, but I don’t think I actually want that to be done. After watching the students work and interacting with the the concepts and materials the project was much more dynamic with their spin on things. So, In regards to flexibility, I need to be flexible in allowing students to perceive the project in their own way.

The differences in perception, I am sure, falls greatly on my communicative skills as well. Transitioning from talking to peers and authority to a group of middle schoolers means a transition in the way I talk. Procedural talk, I have learned, is much different than casual talk. Something I noticed about giving instructions is that they need to be short, sweet and to the point. Yeah, extremely thought out and thorough instructions are great in a lesson plan, but when talking to people no one is going to remember the 10 step-by-step processes you explained an hour ago.

Now that I have recognize these shortcomings, I am excited to have teach this lesson again with the hindsight that I have now.

Share your ideas!

